France Travel Planner Logo   Périgord (Dordogne), France
The historic name of Périgord is still commonly used to describe the Dordogne region.


It can get confusing trying to keep the various regions of France straight, especially when some are known by more than one name.

What we commonly refer to as the Dordogne region is also referred to as Périgord, the historic name of the area—dating back centuries. Although the Département has been known as the Dordogne for years, many people still use the term Périgord. So be aware that you might hear both.

Périgord/the Dordogne is/are also part of the region of France known as Aquitaine, which also includes Bordeaux.

And to make things more complicated, the Périgord has been further divided into four "colorful" regions.

The Périgord Noir (Black Périgord) is where most places of touristic interest are, including Sarlat, Lascaux, Domme, and other towns on the Dordogne and Vézère Rivers. More...

The Périgord Pourpre (Purple Périgord), so named because of the abundant wine from the area, is centered on Bergerac. More...

The Périgord Vert, or Green Périgord, is the northwestern part of Périgord, known for its lush green fields and valleys and beautiful gardens.

And the Périgord Blanc, or White Périgord, is named for the abundance of white limestone in the are. Périgueux, the administrative center of the Dordogne Département, is in the Périgord Blanc.

You'll also hear the term referred to in reference to food, and the cuisine of Périgord, characterized by truffles, foie gras, and other goose and duck products, is world renowned.


About the Dordogne

Périgord Noir

Périgord Pourpre

About Sarlat

About Périgueux

About Aquitaine

About France




Chateau de Beynac, Périgord, France

Above, Château de Beynac, in the Périgord, Dordogne France.

Below, Prehistoric cave painting, Lascaux II, in the Périgord Noir, Dordogne, France.

Cave painting, Lascaux II, Dordogne, France

FTP on Facebook    
Pinterest    Twitter